Gillian’s Farm…part two

December 17, 2008 at 7:18 pm Leave a comment

gill-farm-part-two-1The Gillian Farm painting continues…

I’ve made the roof and door yellow to blend with the wall color Lauren added in the nursery.

 

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-2I tried adding a weathervane to the barn roof, but the scale is wrong, so I think I’ll paint it out…

 

 

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-3This is how I figure out where the different animals will go in the scene…first, I draw them on tracing paper…

 

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-4Then I slide the drawing around until, in this case, the horse looks naural with the right scale…then I put a piece of graphite transfer paper (like the old carbon paper but not as waxy) under my drawing and draw over it to transfer the lines to the canvas…

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-6Here are the products I used to place the animals in the scene…available at any art store or online.

 

 

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-7Here are the animals placed in their farm surroundings…and underpainted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

gill-farm-part-two-8Here’s a close-up of the flock of sheep I painted on the far hillside…it appears that farmgirl Gillian is having a cozy fire in her little pink farmhouse 😉

(I’ll post Gillian’s Farm Part Three photos in a day or two…stay tuned!)

Entry filed under: Animals, Just for FUN. Tags: , , , , , , .

Gillian’s Farm, part one Gillian’s farm…part three

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Technorati

Add to Technorati Favorites

Follow me on Twitter…because you’ll get to see cute goats and puppies!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

